Fall To-Be-Read List

blog-header-10_11_16

For the first time in a long time I have a to-be-read list. This is glorious.

It is somewhat lengthy, but this is not a problem. I went  at last two Saturdays ago, and within four days of going to the library I had completed The Last of the Mohicans and Pioneer Girl. If  I could write as fast as I read it would be great, but like reading quickly, it would have downsides. Reading and writing are similar in this respect; you’re in a hurry to finish to see what happens, yet you want to take time to savor the experience. (I’m that way, anyhow.)

But I digress.

First, fiction:

#1. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson (Re-read, and already finished it.)

I read this a few years back but I don’t recall much of the story, so I decided to give it another try and see if I enjoy it more this time around.

#2. Parnassus on Wheels by Christopher Morley

I first heard of Christopher Morley from Hanna-col at Hanna-col Writes. (If you’re not following her yet you really ought to. Her finds are pure gold.) I haven’t read any of his books yet, so I’m looking forward to this one, in which the story revolves around a bookshop-on-wheels and its owner. (I mean, really, how bad can that be?)

#3. The Last of the Mohicans by James Fennimore Cooper.

Recommended by a friend and already finished! Review coming sometime in the future.

#4 & 5. The Secret of Chimneys and The Seven Dials Mystery by Agatha Christie

I was thinking about trying Agatha Christie but I was completely overwhelmed by the sheer number of titles there are to choose from. XD Then Elisabeth from The Second Sentence shared a review of these books, paralleling them to a couple of books by P. G. Wodehouse that I’m familiar with and I decided I would start there. 😀 I broke a cardinal rule of reading and watched a film adaption of Seven Dials before reading the book, and I enjoyed it immensely. (Considering it borrowed whole dialogues from the original book I’m pretty sure it was a true adaption, but I’m curious to see if the novel ever mentions who messed with all the clocks and took one away, because that was never addressed.)

#6. The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Re-read)

Because Sherlock Holmes is always a good idea.

#7. Prester John by John Buchan

This adventure story set in colonial South Africa was my first not-Hannay Buchan read. I already finished it and a review is coming soon.

#8 & 9. Joy in the Morning and The Code of the Woosters by P. G. Wodehouse

I have Leave it to Psmith, A Damsel in Distress, and Very Good, Jeeves under my belt, and I am ready for a foray into these two Jeeves and Wooster novels. I think after these I will try to get my hands on one of the Blandings saga.

Non-fiction

#1. Pioneer Girl, The Annotated Autobiography of Laura Ingalls Wilder

Sort of self-explanatory. 😀 Already read it! Review coming next.

#2. Handbook for Spies by Alexander Foote

Rachel Heffington talked about this book in her recent vlog on Lipstick and Gelato and I was instantly curious. I do love a good spy story, and this one is true, too.

#3. Avenue of Spies by Alex Kershaw

Another spy book. (I told ya’.) This one is also a true WWII story, about an American doctor in Paris who gets swept up in the French Resistance. I am awaiting its arrival on my front porch with bated breath.

SO, what are y’all reading this season? Tell me all about it and please leave a recommendation! 😀

 

6 thoughts on “Fall To-Be-Read List

  1. Mhm…. currently a lot of medieval fantasy! I have a huge stack of to-read books in my room. *sheepish grin* Maybe I’ll take a pic. and send it your way.
    I love The Last of the Mohicans. One of my favorite books. 😀

    Like

  2. Ahh, so excited that you’re going to read PARNASSUS ON WHEELS! It is such a darling book.

    I received PIONEER GIRL as a birthday gift this year and cannot wait until I have the time to read it. I’ve been eyeing it longingly for far too long.

    And Wodehouse is always good to brighten up a day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Hanne-col! * waves hello*
      I’m so excited to read it! Only I’m getting it as a gift, so I have to wait until next month fr my birthday. Haha! #poorbookwormproblems
      I loved Pioneer Girl! It was so fun to get back into the world of Laura Ingalls Wilder.
      And, of course Wodehouse. I’m so happy over it. 😀

      Like

  3. Eeep that sounds like an amazing selection with plenty of classics there too!! I read Treasure Island YEARS ago, omg…maybe like 7 or more years ago? But I listened to an audio so I still remember it perfectly. It was such a good book and so different from all the movie adaptions.😂 As adaptions are wont to do. hehhe. I never really know what I’m reading in advance, but I’d like to think I could get to Nevernight before the month is out!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Cait! *waves*
      Classics are my favorite, so they always make up most of my reading. 🙂 I haven’t watched any of the adaptions of Treasure Island, but I’m glad I read it! It was so much better the second time. 😀
      Really? I thought that was the point of a TBR, but once it’s so big I guess you just have to let Fate take its course with matters. LOL! Good luck getting to Nevernight, anyhow! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

