Two Years + April 2016 Checklist

IMG_0215.JPG

Today is a rather momentous occasion.

Two years ago today, I completed my very first novel. Or should I say: the very first draft of my very first novel. XD The Good Adventurers has undergone huge changes and grown up more than I thought it was able to. It has also slimmed down a little bit, from 129,000 words to 114,000 words. (I am very proud of this, BTW.)

If you’re new to the blog, you can learn more about The Good Adventurers here.

Just thought you might like to know about this Very Important Anniversary. ( I thought you might need another excuse to have some cake this Friday.) 😉

 

Last Month: March 2016

  • Now that I’m writing, write consistently.
  • Make progress on graduation bash/gala/party plans.
  • Prepare blog posts so I’m not caught posting nonsense at the last minute. 🙂

I can’t say exactly how much progress I’ve made, but I know there’s been some. And hopefully 50K more this month, as I’m participating in Camp NaNoWriMo! I’m currently through outlining the first act, now that the charries are ‘up the plotting tree’ so to speak, I’m throwing stones at ’em and currently puzzling about how to get them down. (Plausibly, that is.) 🙂 At this point, it looks as if I might wing the second half. This is a sequel to The Good Adventurers, and it was written in a similar way. I was very lucky that it turned out as well as it did, so maybe I can do it again. 😀

Thus far graduation party plans have involved testing cupcake recipes. (As seen above.) All is well.

Bear with me on the blogging thing. Life has been busy around here lately with Easter and some sickness, and I haven’t been reading much so there’s little to share.

This Month: April 2016

  • Add 50,000 words to the first draft of The Four Colonials.
  • Finish my school studies for the year.

I’m slated to get my wisdom teeth extracted towards the end of the month. O.o. I have no idea what sort of bearing this will have on me and what I’ll be feeling up to doing afterward, so I’m not setting high expectations for what I want to accomplish. Maybe I’ll get in some long overdue reading. 🙂

In other news, I have been thoroughly spoiled by the gorgeous weather we had this month. I don’t recall it ever being so green so early in the year!

I’ve always worked on school and writing and art in the basement, and so I’ve been spending long hours down there daily for a long time. There’s some natural light, but a change of scenery is always refreshing. Well, last month, I got a real desk, and to my delight, it fits perfectly underneath the window in my bedroom. This is something I’ve always wanted, so it’s a lovely blessing even though it may not be a permanent set up.  (No picture, sorry. I went to take one and the neighbors’ truck was being an eyesore right outside. I’ll share another time :P)

Things I’m loving lately:

The chair pictured is one I saw at T.J. Maxx a few weeks back. Unfortunately, it was waaay out of my price range, or else I would’ve gotten it to go with my desk. 😛
office-chair-upholstered-chair-in-a-swivel-base-blue

While we’re on the subject of things I want that are totally out of my price range, these Kate Spade x Keds rose gold glitter have been on my wishlist for ages. They went on sale last month, but I still couldn’t justify the price. XD

WF52991_1_1200x735.jpg

What have you all been celebrating lately? Or wishing for? What’s on your plate this April? Leave a comment and tell me! I love hearing from you. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

