Friday Feature | DIY Handlettered Gift Wrap

IMG_3595 edited header

The lights are up! The gifts are appearing under the tree!

IMG_3585.JPG

T-minus two weeks until Christmas. What better way to truly personalize a last minute gift than to wrap it in hand-designed paper? It’s easy and good practice. 🙂

You will need: 

  • Calligraphy pen
  • black ink (I used Sumi ink)
  • brush pen or paintbrush
  • ruler
  • pencil
  • a big eraser
  • sturdy brown paper for calligraphy
  • patience

 

I’ve had my calligraphy pen for a month now and I love it. You’ll can also use a brush pen. I imagine a small paintbrush will work as well. You’ll need something sturdier than just any ‘ol brown paper for a calligraphy pen or it will bleed, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that you don’t for a brush pen.

IMG_3562
Ink that has bled has a fuzzy appearance, rather than crisp, ideal letters.

You can free hand, but I suggest marking out the words for the first time. You can erase pencil marks without disturbing the writing after it’s dry. Even if you don’t follow the pencil, it’s a great help just to know what you’re planning to put on the paper at any given point.

IMG_3563

I suggest that you cut the paper to the desired size before writing on it to save time. (And ink.)

The brush pen was easier, but I don’t like it quite as much for writing and I have practiced less. You could probably use a regular paintbrush as well.

IMG_3591 edited

 

 

IMG_3574 edited

I didn’t measure exactly, but  this was enough to wrap a small box and a medium/large box. It took about six hours from start to finish.

I used Christmas song lyrics for words, but you could write about anything. So get your pencil and paper and write your little heart out!

4 thoughts on “Friday Feature | DIY Handlettered Gift Wrap

Leave a Reply

