A New Chapter

First, it is my birthday! *distributes cake and ice cream*.

Secondly, I have a new header, made by my tres fab designer Lauren Carns. I’m not a bit biased, I swear.

Third, notice the tagline.

lydia carns a blog

I have decided to take this blog in a new direction. Because there’s more to writing than simply writing. Who each individual writer is as a person shapes their worldview and style, and that is as big a part of their writing as the words they put on a page. While writing is months of brainstorming about new plots, feels, shaping new characters from their hair color to their name to their personality type, we writers also live real lives. Also, because it’s important to be balanced, and to keep a balanced perspective.

There are times, especially in the baby stages and editing phases, when we go for days, even weeks, at a time without writing anything. During those interludes we don’t simply sit around twiddling our thumbs and waiting for inspiration to happen around. Some of us have a regular nine-to-five job. Others, like me, are still in school, or maybe at college.

And we all have other passions. Don’t deny it. I have many: illustrating, music, fashion, travel, cooking, and craftiness are just a few is just scratching the surface. I enjoy all of these things, and different tangents of them often find their way into the books I try writing. The Good Adventurers is about musicians, for instance, and I am working on a plot bunny about a coffee shop owner.

Lydia Carns Brand Board

So from today forward you may anticipate two weekly posts: a Tuesday book blog starting next week, and a Friday feature on art, fashion, cooking, a craft, or just something that’s been going on that I want to share with you all. Stay posted!

Is there any particular thing that you would like me to blog about? Leave a comment and tell me!

3 thoughts on “A New Chapter

Leave a Reply

