Behind the Scenes Writing Tag

IMG_0382 copy 2

I tag me; courtesy of Hanne-col, and Annie, who made up this splendid little diversion of a tag.

– Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

Well, no. Sometimes I bring my lunch to the computer, but I can’t get away with that for breakfast or dinner. But usually I have a coffee in hand. Or my afternoon snack, though if I’m writing I’ll forget to eat it. Whatever the food, it is regularly cheese-related.

– When do you normally write? Night, afternoon, or morning?

Whenever opportunity arises. Or, whenever I can tear myself away from the internet. For instance, I was on a writing spree when I decided to break and take a peek at Hanne-col’s blog, and now I’m writing this instead. This is blogging, however. I write very well late at night. If I start at the right point I can put in a solid five to six hours between dinner and bed. 

– Where do you write?

I don’t have a laptop, so I always end up at the family computer. Though I would love someday to have a desk at a window with a scenic view or cityscape for inspiration.

– How often do you write a new novel?

*pauses*  Not very often. I’ve only every completed one. (True confessions here,) but I have two in progress. A sequel of sorts, though I said to myself that I wouldn’t be that writer. And a contemporary fiction that I’ve been writing for almost a year. I’m no further than ever, for I’ve written some ten different beginnings, some as long as 30K words. Whenever I finish the first draft you’ll hear more. 😀

– Do you listen to music while you write?

Is that a question? lol. Always, excepting the times I’m so engaged in words that I forget to turn it on. Right now, it’s Christmas music. Our family gathering, which we still think of as Thanksgiving (No we’re not Canadian) just happened, and so it’s now officially Christmas season. But I also like violin concertos and fantasies, Rachmaninoff, the soundtrack for Cinderella by Patrick Doyle (though I don’t endorse the movie), and Chopin’s music for cello and piano; all strictly instrumental.

– What do you write on? Laptop or paper?

Neither. I use the family PC, and I like the surround sound that is connected to it for company.

– Is there a special ritual you have before or after you write?

Checking all social media sites. *sheepish looks*

– What do you do to get into the mood to write?

I reflect on a scene I like, be it pre-written or written, or have a conversation in my head with a charrie.

– What is always near the place you write?

Noise. And messes. Thus the need for music. I tend to forget the music in the event that the room is quiet.

– Do you have a reward system for your word count?

Um, satisfaction? Or maybe prolonged fancies of fame and fortune.

– Is there anything about your writing process that others might not know about?

The intense development which now goes into my characters before they ever go on the page. Also, I rarely plot things on paper. Only chapter titles. Naming anything but people is my bane.

So there you have it! I have few close connections in the writing world, so I tag Hope @ Writing in the Light. And if you care to participate, do, and leave your link in the comments so I can read your answers. Cheers, readers!

One thought on “Behind the Scenes Writing Tag

Leave a Reply

