A Book by Yours Truly

  ‘ Dear Sir,  

   I’ve failed you terribly. Words cannot express my grief and remorse for what has happened. I cannot undertake the responsibilities I now have, and I must go away. Do not worry about me; when I am ready I will return.

   Give all my love to Mum and the girls.

                                                                                                                             Respectfully, your son,

                                                                                                                            Peter Bertram.’

The Good Adventurers, by Lydia Carns

So far I haven’t properly introduced my writing to the world, and so today I have this pleasant task to undertake.

The Good Adventurers started with a reference from a Robert Louis Stevenson story, a poorly informed case of Anglophilia, a list of names, and two dogs, Max and Bentley, who provided the inspiration for a certain character.

The Good Adventurers is a family drama set against a backdrop of 1910’s England, France, and Switzerland. It is still in the revising and editing stage. I hope, Lord willing, to someday publish it. But for now, this is the best channel that I have to share it with the world, and I am excited to do so.

adventurers mood board
My stab at a moodboad. (I do not own any of the images.)

The aristocratic English family the Bertrams have been bankers for two hundred years. In 1911, Peter Bertram is the heir of the company and the title Earl of Hathaway. But Peter, a prodigy musician, has other plans, contrary to his grandfather’s wishes. These plans flourish and grow over time. unnoticed by anyone barring his sisters and younger brother, who together with him are the ‘Adventurers’.

Someone else has other plans for the bank too. Behind the façade of Bertram’s of London lies untold wealth and an old family secret. An estranged relative wants control of those riches, and his efforts turn Peter Bertram’s life upside down and threaten to tear his family apart.

Meanwhile, when Peter’s hopes become known, wealth and social status prevent him from pursuing his talents. When his last resort from a career is lost, Peter flees home, unwilling to be a banker. He is given two choices: return to England and relinquish his music, or suffer disownment if he persists in studying the violin. He wins the sympathy of his family and the support of his teacher throughout the course of the Great War; but no sooner has it ended when their old nemesis looms again. Haunted by threats and unsure of where their enemies will next strike, Peter and his father are pitted against an adversary who threatens not only them, but their loved ones as well, and will seemingly stop at nothing to win.

I will be posting character ‘interviews’ and sneak peeks in the future. Join me soon for the first one!

   It was an odd thing, but as he was drifting off into a fitful sleep he fancied that he heard music. Nor was it the same cheerful Swiss folk music that he had heard before, it was real music, a violin playing Bach.

The Good Adventurers, by Lydia Carns

9 thoughts on “A Book by Yours Truly

  1. Oh, Lydia! I cannot wait to read this book! I have heard you talk about it for so long! I am so pleased my dogs were of some assistance! 🙂

    Like

  2. That sounds really interesting! I’m looking forward to hearing more about it, especially as it involves music and violins – two of my favourite things! 🙂

    By the way, I just found your blog; and it’s really good – keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

